Economou, Hadjieleftheriadis, Martinos and Youroukos amongst winners as over 1,100 attend annual shipping gala

M/Maritime, Latsco Shipping, Levante Ferries and Piraeus Bank among others honoured

Shipowner George Economou was named Greek Shipping Personality of the Year for 2019 and former Eletson director Gregory B. Hadjieleftheriadis was honoured with a Lifetime Achievement Award in Athens on Friday, 6 December at the 16th annual Lloyd’s List Greek Shipping Awards.

Nikolas Martinos and George Youroukos were among other major names who won individual awards while the night began with awards for M/Maritime, Latsco Shipping and Levante Ferries as, respectively, Dry Cargo Company, Tanker Company and Passenger Line of the Year.

A large attendance of more than 1,100 Greek and international shipping personalities gathered at the Athenaeum InterContinental Hotel for the 2019 event, organised by Lloyd’s List, the international maritime information provider that was established as a newspaper in 1734.

They hailed the brightest performers for 2019, including some of the industry’s best-known personalities and companies, and enjoyed an exciting event programme that reflected the many and diverse challenges the shipping industry is currently facing.

ClassNK, a longtime supporter of the event, was once again overall lead sponsor of the Greek Shipping Awards.

Greece’s minister of Shipping and Island Policy, Yiannis Plakiotakis, opened the ceremonies with a video message to the audience and Informa Managing Editor Richard Meade presented a donation on behalf of the event organisers to ‘Argo’, the charity supporting children with special needs in the families of Greek seafarers.

Guests enjoyed a pre-dinner welcome reception hosted by Erma First while China Classification Society offered the traditional champagne toast to the health of Greek shipping.

The annual awards recognise achievement and meritorious activity in the Greek shipping industry and promote Greece as a maritime centre. Winners are chosen by an independent panel of judges representing a broad cross-section of the Greek shipping industry.

The 2019 Greek Shipping Awards event was co-hosted by award-winning ERT broadcaster Andriana Paraskevopoulou together with Lloyd’s List correspondent in Greece Nigel Lowry.

View the 2019 Commemorative 'Winners' Magazine

View the 2019 Event Mini-Video