Economou, Hadjieleftheriadis, Martinos and Youroukos amongst winners as over 1,100 attend annual shipping gala

M/Maritime, Latsco Shipping, Levante Ferries and Piraeus Bank among others honoured

Shipowner George Economou was named Greek Shipping Personality of the Year for 2019 and former Eletson director Gregory B. Hadjieleftheriadis was honoured with a Lifetime Achievement Award in Athens on Friday, 6 December at the 16th annual Lloyd’s List Greek Shipping Awards.

Nikolas Martinos and George Youroukos were among other major names who won individual awards while the night began with awards for M/Maritime, Latsco Shipping and Levante Ferries as, respectively, Dry Cargo Company, Tanker Company and Passenger Line of the Year.

A large attendance of more than 1,100 Greek and international shipping personalities gathered at the Athenaeum InterContinental Hotel for the 2019 event, organised by Lloyd’s List, the international maritime information provider that was established as a newspaper in 1734.

They hailed the brightest performers for 2019, including some of the industry’s best-known personalities and companies, and enjoyed an exciting event programme that reflected the many and diverse challenges the shipping industry is currently facing.

ClassNK, a longtime supporter of the event, was once again overall lead sponsor of the Greek Shipping Awards.

Greece’s minister of Shipping and Island Policy, Yiannis Plakiotakis, opened the ceremonies with a video message to the audience and Informa Managing Editor Richard Meade presented a donation on behalf of the event organisers to ‘Argo’, the charity supporting children with special needs in the families of Greek seafarers.

Guests enjoyed a pre-dinner welcome reception hosted by Erma First while China Classification Society offered the traditional champagne toast to the health of Greek shipping.

The annual awards recognise achievement and meritorious activity in the Greek shipping industry and promote Greece as a maritime centre. Winners are chosen by an independent panel of judges representing a broad cross-section of the Greek shipping industry.

The 2019 Greek Shipping Awards event was co-hosted by award-winning ERT broadcaster Andriana Paraskevopoulou together with Lloyd’s List correspondent in Greece Nigel Lowry.

The 2019 Winners

Christina Margelou of sponsor Eurobank presenting the Greek Shipping Personality of the Year Award to George Economou.

George Economou was voted 2019 Greek Shipping Personality of the Year.

George Youroukos accepting the Greek Shipping Newsmaker of the Year Award from Frans Horjus of sponsor ExxonMobil.

Lloyd’s List’s Greek Shipping Newsmaker of the Year Award went to George Youroukos of Technomar Shipping and Poseidon Containers, that has recently merged with Global Ship Lease.

Cyprus Shipping Deputy Minister Natasa Pilides presenting the Lloyd’s List/Propeller Club Lifetime Achievement Award to Gregory B. Hadjieleftheriadis.

Gregory B. Hadjieleftheriadis was awarded the Lloyd’s List / Propeller Club Lifetime Achievement Award for a 50-year career.

Nikolas Martinos accepting the Next Generation Shipping Award from Theofilos Xenakoudis of sponsor IRI/The Marshall Islands Registry

Nikolas Martinos won the New Generation Shipping Award, open to personalities of no more than 40 years of age.

Stelios Mavrelos of sponsor Capital Ship Management Corp. presenting the International Personality of the Year Award to Despina Panayiotou Theodosiou.

Despina Panayiotou Theodosiou, the president of Wista International, the trade association for women in shipping, was elected International Personality of the Year, the only Award open exclusively to non-Greeks.

John Mytilineos (left) accepting the Dry Cargo Company of the Year Award for M/Maritime from Matthew More of sponsor Marichem Marigases.

The recipient of the Dry Cargo Company of the Year Award for 2018 was M/Maritime.

Paillette Palaiologou of sponsor Bureau Veritas presenting the Tanker Company of the Year Award to Paris Kassidokostas-Latsis (right) and George Margaronis of Latsco Shipping.

As Tanker Company of the Year the panel chose Latsco Shipping, the main shipping entity of the Latsis Group.

George Theodosis (left), Chairman of Levante Ferries accepting the Passenger Line of the Year Award from Li Hui of sponsor SWS.

The judges chose Levante Ferries as Passenger Line of the Year.

Vassilis Papageorgiou of sponsor The Tsakos Group (centre) presenting the Shipbroker of the Year Award to Panagiotis Tsilingiris and Yannis Olziersky of Xclusiv Shipbrokers.

Xclusiv Shipbrokers won the Shipbroker of the Year Award.

Andreas Chrysostomou of sponsor Tototheo Maritime presenting the Shipping Financier of the Year Award to Eleni Vrettou of Piraeus Bank.

The Greek Shipping Financier of the Year Award went to Piraeus Bank.

Ioannis Chiotopoulos of sponsor DNV GL (centre) presenting the Technical Achievement Award to Panos and Elias Mallios of SeaBright.

SeaBright was awarded the Technical Achievement Award.

Despina Iliopoulou of SeaJets presenting The Safety Award to Vice Admiral Theodoros Kliaris, Chief of the Hellenic Coast Guard.

The Hellenic Coast Guard won The Safety Award.

Theodosis Stamatellos (right) of sponsor Lloyd’s Register presenting The Sustainability Award to Alexander Prokopakis of probunkers.

Probunkers won The Sustainability Award.

John Laderos (right) of sponsor SRH Marine Group presenting the Piraeus International Centre Award for The Municipality of Piraeus to Ilia Salpea and Andriana Zarakeli.

The Municipality of Piraeus was recipient of this year’s prestigious Piraeus International Centre Award.

Dr. Loukas Barmparis (left) of sponsor Safe Bulkers, Inc. presenting the Seafarer of the Year Award to Capt. Dimitrios Spanoudakis.

The Seafarer of the Year Award was won by Capt. Dimitrios Spanoudakis, Master of the Avin International tanker ‘Kriti Jade’, for rescuing 57 migrants abandoned in the Ionian Sea in July this year.

Engineer Rafael Cigarruista (right) of Panama Maritime Authority presenting the Award for Achievement in Education or Training to Angelos Pantouvakis of the department of Maritime Studies, University of Piraeus.

Dept of Maritime Studies, University of Piraeus was winner of the 2019 Education or Training Award.

Capt. Vladimir Docekal (right) of sponsor RightShip presenting the Ship of the Year Award to Marios Iliopoulos of SeaJets for “WorldChampion Jet”.

The Ship of the Year Award went to the “WorldChampion Jet”, the fastest vessel in the fleet of Seajets.

Vassilios Kroustallis of sponsor ABS (right) presenting the Lloyd’s List Intelligence Big Data Award to Efstathios Pitsos and Roberto Coustas (centre) of DeepSea Technologies.

The Lloyd’s List Intelligence Big Data Award was presented to DeepSea Technologies.